call for applications


The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 10-month residencies in one of the 16 participating Institutes: Berlin, Bologna, Brussels, Budapest, Cambridge, Delmenhorst, Freiburg, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyon, Marseille, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, Wassenaar, Zürich. The Institutes for Advanced Study support the focused, self-directed work of outstanding researchers. The fellows benefit from the finest intellectual and research conditions and from the stimulating environment of a multi-disciplinary and international community of first-rate scholars.


EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in life and exact sciences, provided that their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities and that it interfaces with humanities and social sciences. The diversity of the 16 participating IAS offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants may select up to three IAS outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.


The Programme welcomes applications worldwide from promising young scholars as well as from leading senior researchers. The EURIAS selection process has proven to be highly competitive. In order to match the Programme standards, applicants have to submit a solid and innovative research proposal, to demonstrate the ability to forge beyond disciplinary specialisation, to show an international commitment as well as quality publications in high-impact venues.


For the 2014-2015 academic year, EURIAS offers 39 fellowships (20 junior and 19 senior positions).


All IAS have agreed on common standards, including the provision of a living allowance (in the range of € 26,000 for a junior fellow and € 38,000 for a senior fellow), accommodation (or a mobility allowance), a research budget, plus coverage of travel expenses.



– Applications are submitted online via, where, you will find detailed information regarding the content of the application, eligibility criteria, selection procedure, etc.
– The deadline for application is July 10th, 2013, 12 PM (noon) GMT. Late applications will not be considered.



– Scientific assessment by two international referees
– Pre-selection by the EURIAS international Scientific Committee
– Final selection by the IAS academic boards
– Publication of results (January 2014)



Application deadline  July 10th, 2013

Results of the preselection by EURIAS Scientific Committee → Mid-November, 2013

Publication of IAS final selections → Mid-January, 2014

Arrival of fellows  September/October 2014



Please check on the following pages :



For the academic year 2014/2015, EURIAS Fellowship Programme offers 39 positions distributed as follows.
city / country Institutes Junior positions Senior positions
Berlin, Germany Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin 1 1
Bologna, Italia Istituto di Studi Avanzati 1 0
Brussels, Belgium Flemish Academic Centre for Science and the Art 0 0
Bucharest, Romania New Europe College 0 0
Budapest, Hungary Central European University-Institute for Advanced Study 2 0
Cambridge, United Kingdom Centre for research in the arts, social sciences and humanities 1 0
Delmenhorst, Germany Hanse – Wissenschaftskolleg Institute for Advanced Study 1 1
Freiburg, Germany Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies 0 2
Helsinki, Finland Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies 1 1
Jerusalem, Israel Israel Institute for Advanced Studies 2 4
Lyon, France Collegium de Lyon 2 2
Marseille, France L'institut d'études avancées d'Aix-Marseille 1 1
Nantes, France Institut d’Etudes Avancées de Nantes 0 0
Paris, France Institute for Advanced Studies of Paris 2 2
Uppsala, Sweden Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS) 1 2
Vienna, Austria Institut für die Wissenschaften vom Menschen 1 1
Wassenaar, Netherlands Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study 3 1
Zürich, Switzerland Collegium Helveticum 1 1